loader image
Select Page

Client Feedback & Testimonials

We love to hear what our clients think of our services and value every bit of feedback we receive

If you are a NorthStar client, you can provide your feedback and testimonials.

Please also see our client satisfaction ratings.

 

 
Average NorthStar Rating

4.92 out of 5 | 66 reviews



Woman Head 2
Teresa B.
Bishopstoke
13.11.19

"All I can say is that I was very lucky to meet my advisor. He has helped with everything I was worried about. Thank you you all so much."

Man Head 1
Steve B.
Hampshire
12.11.19

"It was good to have the review 'health check' on our finances, and consider if we are still meeting our objectives. The meeting with James was, as always, efficient and conducted in a professional manner and also reassuring…. he is always available with ongoing advice and meetings are well structured but in a relaxed manner."

Woman Head 1
Clarisa C.
Winchester
28.10.19

"Thank you for taking the time to do a Discovery meeting with me. It has been helpful, and James has been honest and patient in explaining things and finding out more about my finances. Much appreciated."

Woman Head 1
Catherine A.
Southampton
11.10.19

"Thank you for the financial expertise and guidance provided so far. I am particularly impressed by the user friendly and effective electronic communications used for the period and annual review process. Regular newsletters are also informative."

Man Head 2
Wayne C.
Southampton
27.09.19

"As with my 1st visit, James has acted in a professional manner explaining things in a way I understand and has been in contact throughout which has given me peace of mind."

Woman Head 2
Jess F.
Southampton
22.08.19

"NorthStar offer a lot of information about the investment I have made. This is reassuring for me because I feel you are being transparent about your processes. Your team are professional and approachable - an ideal combination for financial services."

Woman Head 2
Kathy T.
Basingstoke
17.07.19

"It's early days for my investment but happy with progress it is making. Regular email updates always gratefully received. I know you're at the end of the phone should I have any queries."

Woman Head 1
Christina E.
New Forest
11.07.19

"I went to NorthStar wanting to set up an investment portfolio, on my retirement, three years ago. I was pleased with the openness of the fee structure - you know exactly what the fees are beforehand (very reasonable) & James spent time with me discussing my needs. My portfolio has performed far better than I had expected & NorthStar are helpful & communicate well, keeping me informed about my investments. I have no hesitation in continuing to use the company & would also recommend them to others."

Woman Head 2
Amanda P.
Southampton
11.07.19

"I wanted to set up a new investment ISA and I needed advice and ongoing investment oversight. James took time to consider my circumstances and recommended a good ISA product and a specific portfolio of funds. My portfolio is up strongly since I first invested and I get regular investment updates and other useful communications from NorthStar. [James] has done a great job."

Woman Head 1
Sandy T.
Waterlooville
11.07.19

"James Thompson was very helpful and professional. He explained in terms that we could understand and continues to do so. We continue to receive helpful advice whenever we need it and we receive updates and ongoing information. Nothing is too much trouble. We are very pleased with the financial advice we received and it has enabled us both to retire and live comfortable. We are very pleased and would highly recommend the advice we have received from James."

Man Head 1
Alan T.
Waterlooville
11.07.19

"As I like to keep on top of my investments and pensions with current events, trends etc, to ensure good returns. I turn to NorthStar for advice. I am very pleased with James Thompson and Northstar for both advice and running my investments and pensions. James Thompson and NorthStar are always available for discussion, the company send out regular up dates on current financial trends and products. I am more than happy with them."

Man Head 2
Wayne C.
Southampton
12.06.19

"The meeting today was everything I expected and all done in the best professional way. Thank you."

Man Head 2
Keith H
Southampton
15.05.19

"I feel the second meeting with James Thompson was very well structured. He explained the strategy regarding my pension in a clear and logical way. He was happy to answer any questions and go over any points again."

Man Head 1
Peter C.
Southampton
26.04.19

"James gave me very good advice on how to consolidate and invest my pensions to achieve my goals. The advice was detailed and very competitive. I left the initial meeting feeling confident I had found the right financial adviser and have been happy with results so far. I had seen a number of financial advisers before seeing James."

Man Head 1
Scott T.
Fareham
25.03.19

"I required assistance in moving a pension to a more suitable home and setting up a regular investment for my son. James provided clarity on the range of options available, advised how best to achieve my goals [and did] a very thorough job."

Man Head 2
Alan T.
Waterlooville
22.03.19

"NorthStar have proved to be an excellent Wealth Management company. They provide regular updates on current issues that do and could affect personal finances, are always available and return communications quickly. We have been very pleased with NorthStar and highly recommend them."

Man Woman Head 2
Andrew & Annette L.
Pennington
08.03.19

"As always James was very professional and made it easy and comfortable to discuss our investments. [We] were happy with James's proposals and look forward to a better year under the watchful eye of NorthStar."

Man Head 2D2
Sajid B.
Southampton
01.03.19

"Met with James for an initial discussion and found him to be courteous, impartial, knowledgeable but more importantly he listened to what I needed and gave solid advice on making the most out of my current circumstances without pressuring me to sign up. Thoroughly recommend their service."

Woman Head 2
Michelle D.
Chandler's Ford
13.02.19

"James did a full analysis of my existing pensions, took time to understand my goals and constraints and clearly explained the benefits of my existing pension providers compared to the new, proposed provider. He is clearly very knowledgeable and diligent."

Man Head 2
Steve D.
New Forest
16.11.18

"Excellent advice and responsiveness. Thank you."

Man Head 1
Andy K.
Hampshire
26.10.18

"[NorthStar provided advice on] consolidation of various pension plans… Everything was explained clearly and all happened as discussed. "

Man Head 1D2
Vin V.
Southampton
01.10.18

"Excellent service. Like the professional approach of NorthStar. They give you detailed information on the services you are looking for and do not push for any products or options they provide. They let you make an informed decision. Very impressed with their style of working. Would highly recommend their services."

Woman Head 1
Kathy T.
Basingstoke
26.07.18

"James very clearly set out the options open to me to enable me to choose the best option for my circumstances. He took time to explain anything I didn't understand... This is the beginning of the journey but I feel confident that James' advice has started me on the right path to make my money work for me in retirement."

Woman Head 1
Christina E.
New Forest
27.06.18

"James was brilliant. He asked me enough questions to help me decide where to invest my money to give me a safe but reliable source of income... The results are better than I expected, so thank you James! Keep making my hard earned money work for me….I am delighted with the service given & would highly recommend NorthStar."

Man Head 1
Keith E.
New Forest
27.06.18

"[James] advised me on a safe way to invest modest amounts for a greater return than banks can offer...I have achieved what I was hoping for with my modest investment and in the near future will be adding to it….he was patient and very understanding."

Woman Head 1
Claire L.
Southampton
26.06.18

"James went through all my current pensions, capital and income. Provided extensive reports on my current situation and how to improve it to reach my desired pension income... His level of expertise and detail were exceptional. Any questions always answered thoroughly."

Man Head 1
Steve P.
Southampton
08.06.18

"Good meeting today with James who was very informative and everything was clearly explained."

Woman Head 2
Anna P.
Romsey
08.03.18

"James has been very helpful. His professionalism and friendliness have been fantastic. His advice was spot on and I'm very happy with his recommendations."

Man Head 1
Andrew L.
Pennington
07.03.18

"James Thompson made all of our investments and pension advice easier to understand and was happy to go over some parts again and answered all of our questions making it less stressful, all in all a very professional experience."

Man Head 2
Steve M.
Bishopstoke
13.02.18

"Looking forward to our next meeting to see what James comes up with."

Man Head 1
Neville J.
Southampton
08.02.18

"A very good, enjoyable and profitable meeting, thank you very much."

Man Head 2
Andrew L.
Pennington
31.01.18

"As before, a very professional approach to my wife and I, James made all aspects of our investment clear and was happy to go over some parts of our investment again."

Man Head 1
Alan P.
Southampton
15.01.18

"I was very impressed by the service provided by James and the advice given and hopefully the recommended advice on my portfolio will be successful."

Woman Head 1
Jennifer M.
Hampshire
28.11.17

"James gave me clear advice and listened to my needs. I would recommend him and NorthStar as a professional business that made the other financial advisors I saw seem like second hand car dealers expecting a huge fee for little work. Thank you NorthStar and James."

Woman Head 2
Teresa B.
Hampshire
22.11.17

"I have found NorthStar advisers to be very friendly and they explained everything in plain English. They will explain anything as many times as you need them to and they do not make you feel silly for asking again. I just want to say a very big thank you to the team."

Woman Head 1
Christina E.
New Forest
20.11.17

"[I was looking for] a better deal than the banks & other building societies. I have made more than four times the income by using James this year compared to a building society or ISA or bank... James is so helpful & explains everything."

Man Head 1
Neville J.
Southampton
27.10.17

"My feedback is simple - James was polite, courteous, informed and informative. I felt I could trust him personally, and feel optimistic with regard to his judgement."

Woman Head 1
Lesley T.
Southampton
23.10.17

"We were given advice in a language we could understand and relate to."

Man Head 1
Steve B.
Southampton
17.10.17

"Friendly, efficient, professional service."

Man Head 2
Andrew P.
Hampshire
16.10.17

"I was drawn to NorthStar by your professional website having not previously encountered the name. James was friendly & professional which was the reason for selecting your service over a competing advisor. I now look forward to achieving a mutually profitable relationship."

Man Head 1
Mark W.
Lepe
05.09.17

"The gentleman called me at exactly the time agreed - very good. The gentleman immediately established that I am a Brit living in Bahrain. He therefore advised me that as I was outside the UK he was unable to help me due to FCA rules - very good. He did not waste my time."

Woman Head 2
Sharon M.
Southampton
29.08.17

"First class service. Being updated weekly via email was very useful, it saved on phone calls to find out information, I knew exactly what stage the project was at. I never had to chase up James, he always responded very quickly to any queries I had. James provided an excellent service and I was very impressed."

Woman Head 2
Kathy H.
Isle of Wight
21.08.17

"Bit difficult to assess value for money at this stage; similarly with objectives. In terms of customer service I would only give top marks. The advisor was friendly, professional and most important of all, not for one minute condescending. Having seen another advisor once before and not taken it further I can make some comparison."

Man Woman Head 2
Steve & Christina B.
Southampton
03.08.17

"Very impressed with the service and documentation presented by James. Also, the recommendations seem to be in line with our requirements."

Woman Head 1
Jennifer M.
Hampshire
27.07.17

"Great meeting. Good explanation and everything explained clearly. So refreshing not to have a car sales style first meeting. Thank you."

Woman Head 2
Kathy H.
Isle of Wight
05.07.17

"Good meeting. James is very knowledgeable, gives clear explanations and is very patient. Thanks for helping and I hope we can move forward."

Woman Head 1
Linda S.
Winchester
30.06.17

"It took a long time to finally implement everything and it meant that [we] had to rush to get everything done."

Man Head 1
Justin F.
Southampton
26.06.17

"The NorthStar team was very friendly and professional throughout the whole process. I was very impressed with the high level of communication and regular updates I received. Have already highly recommended NorthStar and will use them again in the future."

Man Head 2
Alan P.
Southampton
23.06.17

"I was very impressed by the approach and quality of the work and advice given. I will continue to maintain contact with the company."

Man Head 1
Steve B.
Southampton
18.05.17

"It was a pleasure to meet James to review our requirements, it was very helpful and informative and we look forward to further discussions with him."

Man Head 2
Andrew P.
Hampshire
11.05.17

"A very thorough and professional meeting."

Woman Head 2
Teresa B.
Bishopstoke
04.05.17

"I had a good meeting today with James. He made the meeting very easy. He explained everything to me in plain English and in a way I could understand. I have every faith he will point me in the right direction with my pension."

Woman Head 1
Katherine H.
Isle of Wight
27.04.17

"The meeting was excellent and everything was clearly explained. James understood my goals and concerns and I was confident that these will be well considered in any recommendations he makes."

Man Head 1
John S.
Hampshire
23.03.17

"Early days but so far so good. Have already recommended NorthStar to friends."

Man Head 2
Neil S.
Dorset
21.03.17

"All that I could have wished for. Regular updates on progress were greatly appreciated."

Man Head 1
Keith L.
Portsmouth
17.02.17

"Very pleased with the service I have had."

Woman Head 2
Kelly B.
Southampton
03.02.17

"I knew what I wanted to achieve but had no idea how to go about it! James came and sat down with me, assessed my needs and my current situation and then explained all of my options to achieve what I set out to do. It is now all done and it was painless! I would recommend to anyone."

Woman Head 1
Maureen T.
Oxfordshire
25.11.16

"NorthStar has been wonderful. Our financial advisor has very good communication skills and seems extremely knowledgeable."

Man Head 2
Keith E.
New Forest
28.10.16

"James from NorthStar has been very helpful in providing me with financial planning advice in a friendly & professional manner. I have acted upon his advice & am very happy with the products he recommended. He certainly knows his stuff."

Man Head 1
Richard P.
Hampshire
18.10.16

"The service provided by NorthStar's adviser was done in a very professional and friendly way."

Woman Head 2
Camilla H.
Braishfield
13.10.16

"The service provided by NorthStar was excellent. I wanted to review the performance of an old pension fund. James was very approachable, explained all my options very clearly and I felt confident that he fully understood my objectives. I received regular progress updates and was pleased with the outcome, which has seen my pension moved online with lower annual fees and a projected higher return. I would definitely recommend NorthStar and James Thompson for any financial advice you might need."

Man Head 2
Phil O.
Southampton
07.10.16

"I would like to say that after two meetings I have been impressed with the service. James Thompson explained our financial strategy in easy to understand terminology and we now look forward to further discussions to achieve our objectives in the future."

Woman Head 1
Sandy T.
Waterlooville
23.08.16

"Excellent service with some very good ideas and well put over."

Man Head 2
Alan T.
Waterlooville
23.08.16

"I found the advice that NorthStar gave to be very helpful. It covered all the necessary points and demonstrated a good working knowledge. Following the work carried out by NorthStar, I now have the confidence to retire, knowing that my pensions and investments are being proactively managed. I have a real understanding of my financial position and a strategy for my retirement. I would recommend NorthStar to others without hesitation."

Woman Head 2
Helen P.
Eastleigh
14.07.16

"NorthStar have been extremely informative throughout the whole process looking in detail at my finances, looking at ways to save and I have happily invested money on their wise advice. I feel confident in their abilities and look forward to seeing the progress moving forward."

Man Head 1
Antony S.
Kirkby Lonsdale
13.06.16

"NorthStar were very helpful in guiding us through the auto enrolment process. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them."

Woman Head 1
Christina E.
New Forest
21.04.16

"Very impressed with the warm, professional service. Everything from the personal contact to all the literature and website has been of the very highest standard. Will be recommending your company to friends & family."



 

“ Your future is always more valuable than today, the sooner you realise that the better. ” 

Steve Douglas

We are VouchedFor

VouchedFor is one of the leading independent ratings and reviews providers for financial professionals in the UK. VouchedFor ensure all financial advisers listed with them are checked regularly against the Financial Conduct Authority Register and verify they offer truly ‘independent’ advice.

VouchedFor collate and validate genuine client reviews to provide an independent rating for every financial adviser listed with them, providing clients with a great way to find out the quality of service that an adviser provides.

Reviews and Ratings for Financial adviser James Thompson, Southampton

 Accreditations & Trade Bodies

premade image 20new2

Join Over 3,000 Happy Subscribers

Stay right up-to-date with the latest financial news, get expert insight and analysis and exclusive special offers to help you make the most of your money. NorthStar Insights is the free email newsletter enjoyed by over 3,000 people across the UK. Join them to see what all the fuss is about. 

 

(Great content every week. No spam. Guaranteed.)

NorthStar privacy policy acceptance.

Thanks for subscribing to NorthStar Insights. Check your email to confirm your subscription.